Skip to content

BOINC forum editor should not discard user's message upon sending #729

Description

@romw

Reported by Pepo on 15 Apr 38774523 23:33 UTC
There are at least two cases, where user's typed in forum message gets inadvertedly lost, although maybe unnecessarily:

  • Akismet: upon sending a message, if akismet is involved and argues about the message contents, it simply writes ''"'''Unable to handle request.''' Your post has been marked as spam by akismet.net anti-spam system. If you feel that this is wrong, please try editing your message."'' What message? It is already lost!
  • Sending (private) messages too often: ''"'''Unable to handle request.''' You are not allowed to send private'''''S''''' messages so often. Please wait some time before sending more messages."'' But in that moment the message is already lost. This possibly applies (or will apply) also to normal forum messages, because at least in the team forums there are time limit settings available.
  • I can imagine other scenarios like user ID being blacklisted, not enough total or average credit to post, etc...
    In all such cases, user should get (back) to the preview editor, facing the important message at the top of preview area.

(Sometimes, after having the message previewed prior to sending, it may be possible to get the browser one page back, refresh the expired page and see the (pre)previous preview again, but 1) this is not always the case, 2) not all messages are previewed first, 3) not every user has knowledge about this, 4) just the frustrated and negatively skilled users copy their messages into clipboard prior to pressing "Send message" button.)

Migrated-From: http://boinc.berkeley.edu/trac/ticket/752

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Type

    Projects

    Relationships

    None yet

    Development

    No branches or pull requests

    Issue actions