What is the bug or the crash? What were your expectations and what actually happened?
When creating a new project from an existing QGIS project with the QField Sync plugin AND changing the local directory manually, you will get a warning:
This warning does not appear when leaving the local directory untouched, i.e. it is the default local directory.
Steps to reproduce the issue
When creating a new project from an existing QGIS project you have the option to change the local directory.
If you do not change the local directory, the plugin will create a new folder into the local directory and sync the project without any issues.
However, if you change the local directory to a newly created and thus empty folder somewhere else and click Select Folder, you will get a warning.
The warning is kind of unnecessary; of course there is no existing QGIS project file yet in that folder.
And the suggestion 'You can always add one later.' is really confusing, because you really shouldn't.
Click OK to get rid of the warning and finish the creation of your new QField project and everything syncs normally.
I would suggest removing this warning. it has no use.
When using the default local directory, QFieldSync also creates a new, empty folder in which to store the new project. it should throw the same warning and I am glad it doesn't.
QGIS version
3.448
QFieldSync Version
4.20.0
Operating system name
Windows
Operating system version
10
Reinstall QFieldSync
Additional context
No response
What is the bug or the crash? What were your expectations and what actually happened?
When creating a new project from an existing QGIS project with the QField Sync plugin AND changing the local directory manually, you will get a warning:
This warning does not appear when leaving the local directory untouched, i.e. it is the default local directory.
Steps to reproduce the issue
When creating a new project from an existing QGIS project you have the option to change the local directory.
If you do not change the local directory, the plugin will create a new folder into the local directory and sync the project without any issues.
However, if you change the local directory to a newly created and thus empty folder somewhere else and click Select Folder, you will get a warning.
The warning is kind of unnecessary; of course there is no existing QGIS project file yet in that folder.
And the suggestion 'You can always add one later.' is really confusing, because you really shouldn't.
Click OK to get rid of the warning and finish the creation of your new QField project and everything syncs normally.
I would suggest removing this warning. it has no use.
When using the default local directory, QFieldSync also creates a new, empty folder in which to store the new project. it should throw the same warning and I am glad it doesn't.
QGIS version
3.448
QFieldSync Version
4.20.0
Operating system name
Windows
Operating system version
10
Reinstall QFieldSync
Additional context
No response